Skip to main content

Remove (unassign) a backup policy

This article explains how to remove a backup policy from an organisational unit, a Smart Team or a shared drive.

From Automate V3.6.0.0 and Backup V1.17 (11 November 2026), removing policies is done on the Assign policies page in the modern Automate interface. It works the same as before.

The Assign policies page with the Organisational Units, Smart Teams and Shared Drives tabs

Organisational units and Smart Teams

To remove a policy from an organisational unit or Smart Team:

  1. Go to the Assign policies page.
  2. Select the Organisational Units or Smart Teams tab, then select the OU or Smart Team in the list.
  3. Choose no policy for the Backup policy. On the old page this option was shown as (No Policy).
  4. Save your changes.

Shared drives

To remove a policy from a shared drive:

  1. Go to the Assign policies page.
  2. Select the Shared Drives tab.
  3. Select the checkbox on any shared drive(s) that you want to remove a policy from, then select Remove Policy.
  4. A confirmation pop-up appears. Select Remove Policy.

Remove is only available when a selected drive has a policy.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful