Enable the migration of Google Drive Shared Drive subfolder sharing permissions

Google Drive allows users to share access to on a subfolder level (within Shared Drive). This means that a user does not need to have access to the root folder in order to view a subfolder within it's directory. For example, you may have a Shared Drive for your Marketing department (so all your Marketing Team have permission to access all folders) but you may only want to grant members of your Sales Team access to a specific subfolder within the Shared Drive (Marketing Collateral, for example). Please refer to this Google article for more detail.

CloudM Migrate allows you to migrate these specific subfolder permissions. To enable migrating folder permissions:

  1. As part of your configuration, set the Destination Platform to Google Workspace,
  2. Click on the Advanced Settings banner to display the Advanced Settings section,
  3. Choose Shared Drive from the Settings Type menu (in the column in the left side of the section),
  4. Use the dropdown menu to set the Shared Drive Folder Permissions setting to 'Folder'.
    • By default, this setting is set to 'None', and you can also select 'Root' to set permissions at a Root folder level only.
  5. Select Next once all Basic or Advanced settings have been set.

Sub_Folder_1.png

 

If the destination platform does not already have a shared drive / folder hierarchy in place to match the source platform:

  1. As part of your configuration, set the Destination Platform to Google Workspace,
  2. Click on the Advanced Settings banner to display the Advanced Settings section,
  3. Choose User from the Settings Type menu (in the column in the left side of the section),
  4. Toggle the Create Users/Resources/Groups/Shared Drives setting to enabled (highlighted in orange as shown below),
  5. Select Next once all Basic or Advanced settings have been set.

Sub_Folder_2.png

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful