Since December 2021, our Development team have been investigating known issues with CloudM’s Contact Sharing feature caused by an unforeseen technical change. However, due to technical limitations and to ensure that we continue to innovate our user and data management platform, a decision has been made to remove this feature from the product.
It is currently in a suspended state, and will remain suspended until our next release, currently scheduled for the week commencing 21st February 2022, when the feature will be removed. Your data as it currently stands will not be affected, but if you have any technical concerns, please either refer to our Frequently Asked Questions or contact our Support team.
Customers who are currently utilising this functionality will find that any group of contacts that they are sharing won’t update or stay in sync.
This article intends to provide answers to some common questions that might arise around the suspension and removal of Contact Sharing.
Will Contacts that I have already shared still be available to recipients?
Yes, any existing share should still remain in place for both the source user account and any recipient account they were shared with prior to us suspending the syncing.
Some customers were impacted before we suspended the sync. Please contact our Customer Support team if you think you have been affected.
Will changes I make to Contacts in the source users accounts be reflected in a recipient's user account?
No, we have suspended the syncing of contacts to prevent any unintended changes being applied.
Will a change that a recipient makes to Contacts be reflected in the source and other recipients' accounts?
No, if you allow the recipient to edit Shared Contacts, any changes they make won’t be synced to either the source user's account or any other recipients the contacts are being shared with.
Any changes will only show in the user account of the user who makes them.
We recommend minimising changes at this time until a fix is issued.
Can I restore Contacts from the bin without causing any further issues?
If a Contact in the source users account has been unexpectedly deleted, you should be able to restore it from the bin.
Will restoring Contacts from the bin impact on your investigation in to the cause of the issue?
No, we have suspended the syncing process so any changes you make to your Contacts will have no impact on our investigation.
Can I remove duplicate Contacts without causing further issues?
Yes, you can use Google Contacts Fix & Merge to remove any duplicate contacts that you find.
Has this Contact sharing suspension affected Smart Contacts functionality?
No, Smart Contacts is a different feature where Contacts are stored in CloudM Manage (either internal or external) and synced to users separately from Contact Sharing.
Initially Smart Contacts was not impacted by this, however a separate issue has been identified and customers may see that Smart Contact are not editable or are not synchronising correctly.
This issue will be resolved as part of the scheduled release, with Smart Contact functionality returning to normal.