Spaces to Spaces - Migrating the Last 10 Messages

This feature allows you to migrate the last 10 messages from your organisation's spaces into new spaces in your destination. 

In order to use this feature, you need to first create an app within your destination workspace which Migrate will use to post the messages.

Creating the app

  1. From a project dashboard (https://console.cloud.google.com/home/dashboard) select a desired project:
  2. Go to "Enable APIs and services" and enable Google Chat API:
  3. Open the enabled Chat API and go to the "CONFIGURATION" tab.
    • Go to "Enable APIs and services" and enable Google Chat API:
  4. Within the configuration tab, the key points are;
    1. App status - This should be set to “internal” or “live”
    2. App name - This will be the name of the app posting the messages that the users see in the spaces 
    3. Avatar URL - This is the Avatar image of the app posting the messages that the users see in the spaces 
  5. Within the Interactive features section, you need to 
    1. Ensure interactive features are enabled
    2. Enable “Receive one-to-one messages”
    3. Enable “Join spaces and group conversations”
  1. Within connection settings, set the App URL as your destination domain
  2. In the visibility section, you need to check the option to “Make this chat app available to specific people and groups”, and then list all the users in the spaces you wish to migrate to the destination as a comma separated list.
  3. Finally, you will need to add the following scopes to the service account you are using for the migration, which can be done via https://admin.google.com/ac/owl/domainwidedelegation?hl=en 
    1. https://www.googleapis.com/auth/chat.spaces
    2. https://www.googleapis.com/auth/chat.memberships
    3. https://www.googleapis.com/auth/chat.memberships.app
    4. https://www.googleapis.com/auth/chat.messages

The app is now created and ready for Migrate to use.

Migrating the spaces

Within Migrate, you can now enable the new option in the destination advanced settings “Create and Rehydrate Google Spaces”

In the user list, you can now select the users and select the new option to migrate spaces conversations.

Completing the migration will then migrate all spaces that the user selected is part of.

In your migration report, the spaces that have been migrated will be recorded in the “chat” section.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful